“Not sure how to say this….”

Last night I was working on a scene where my main character has to tell someone something which will be hard to say and hard to hear.
I was not sure how to do the scene or where to start it.

So, following the guidelines of my experiment, I just had my character do what I was doing. He was struggling to find the best way to say something and so was I.

So instead of ME sitting there unable to proceed, staring at my key board, I put it on him. I wrote a page of my main character standing there not sure how to begin.

I am not 100% sure how to bring the whole scene home….but it works. On a simple, functional, level it does what it needs to do. I will try some tricks to jazz it up, but the thing that I am impressed with is that I followed my rules…..and it paid off.

Leave a Reply

