“The Experiment”

This script project is an experiment.

I love superhero stories and I love when superheroes can function as social and personal metaphors.

I decided a few months ago that I would stop waiting for circumstances and collaborators to align themselves. I decided to move ahead as though I had everything else I needed to produce a monthly superhero comic book. What better way to learn how to do it than to just start doing it?

But what to write about?

I knew I wanted it to be a superhero story, but I didn’t know exactly how to do it or what to do it about. I knew I wanted it to be about something that was important to me. The story should be a metaphor for some personal struggle.

I was struggling to find a struggle.

So that was it. I was trying to learn how to write a superhero comic book by just diving in and doing it….therefore, I would write about a superhero trying to get his start by just diving in and doing it.

His struggles would reflect mine.

If you read the first issue, you will find that the main character is trying to decide on a name. During that time, I was trying to think of a name for my lead character.

This is me learning as I go by writing about a character who is learning as he goes.

Leave a Reply

